Entropy, complexity, infinity, and a possible rational explanation of God

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
16-11-2014, 03:36 PM
Entropy, complexity, infinity, and a possible rational explanation of God
I'd start by saying that I'm not trying to preach here or claiming to be correct. These are some ideas that have been making a lot of sense to me recently and I want to see what those you with more knowledge in physics and philosophy think of them.

I first started thinking about this when I dropped acid about half a year ago, which I found to be a hugely mind opening experience (having said this I also experienced the negative sides of the drug and would advise to approach with caution). I was overwhelmed by the complexity of our universe; the billions of cells making up our bodies, the billions of atoms making up those cells, the billions of stars and galaxies. I studied evolution at university which got the idea into my head of smaller parts coming together to make a greater whole. I wondered if this chain of complexity, systems within systems, really ended at the limits of what we could detect - what if it stretched on forever, beyond subatomic particles, and beyond the edges of the known universe, and forward and backwards in time?

For a while I thought I thought I was just tripping - acid is known to make people convinced they're seeing patterns - but reading into some of the ideas I'd been having I realised that these were very current concepts in physics and philosophy, maybe I wasn't just going mad!

To quote The Retroactive Universe by Avi Rabinowitz (1993);