Escaping religion

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
18-05-2016, 12:46 AM
Escaping religion
Hi all. I'm a 22 year old student at Oklahoma State University. I live in the middle of the Bible Belt. I grew up in a strict, controlling and at time abusive Christian home. I was raised between pentacostal and southern baptist. I went to church from the time I could Remember. I also went to a Christian school and went to a Christian university. The Christian university helped me lose my fundamental beliefs. I stopped going to church 1.5 years ago. I used to calm myself a progressive Christian, but I've officially been an atheist for about a year. Some of my friends know I'm not a Christian, but freak out when I say I'm an atheist. . My parents have threatened to disown me over tattoos, piercings, dating some outside my race so I assume being an atheist would be included.... I have two tattoos that I hide just like I hide my atheism. I'm also black. While some may think this is irrelevant, but being a POC and atheist seems to make me feel so alone. I've even hAd a friend say I can't be atheist since I'm black. So that and living in the Bible Belt has caused me to feel lonely. I feel like I'm living a lie but I love my family and would hate to lose their support and love if I can prevent it. I've been listening to TTA podcasts recently and thought this forum would be a safe place to connect with people.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users Like Lovenbutterflies's post
18-05-2016, 01:05 AM
RE: Escaping religion
Welcome to TTA.

I didn't know they allowed Persons Of Colour to go to university in Oklahoma!

You live and learn.

Smile

[+] 1 user Likes DLJ's post
18-05-2016, 01:47 AM
Welcome. Hope you find this place somewhere to vent frustrations, find reassurance and talk about whatever.

The invisible and the non-existent look very much alike
Excreta Tauri Sapientam Fulgeat (The excrement of the bull causes wisdom to flee)