Evolution for dummies

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
07-12-2013, 11:23 AM
Evolution for dummies
Hello,

I'm a newbie when it comes to evolutionary theory. I believe I have a naturally science and skeptical mind but it was hindered in my early teens due to theological issues. During my tenure in christianity I often heard the argument that evolution is not science because science is done by repeatable experimentation and we can't repeatable experiment with evolution if it takes millions of years.

I would assume the scientists here might help me understand how it is actual science or how the YEC narrow definition of science is biased and incorrect.

Would love your thoughts on this. Thanks. Bowing

“The reason people use a crucifix against vampires is because vampires are allergic to bullshit.” ― Richard Pryor
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2013, 11:28 AM
RE: Evolution for dummies
See this thread for the creationist view of evolution

http://www.thethinkingatheist.com/forum/...-evolution
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
[+] 1 user Likes ghostexorcist's post
07-12-2013, 11:39 AM
(07-12-2013 11:28 AM)ghostexorcist Wrote:  See this thread for the creationist view of evolution

Thanks GE,
The thread didnt answer my question, it actually raised and half answerd one that i had before.

My question is how is evolution, science, in the YEC definition of science? Is the definition faulty?

The question that the thread brought back from my christian days is the YEC assertion that genetic info is not generated by mutation, but lost. Is this true? Han gave an example of genetic info being added but I have never heard of it. Are there more?

“The reason people use a crucifix against vampires is because vampires are allergic to bullshit.” ― Richard Pryor
07-12-2013, 11:45 AM
(07-12-2013 11:23 AM)djkamilo Wrote:  Hello,