Favorite recreational substance

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
18-08-2016, 02:18 PM
Favorite recreational substance
If anyone feels uncomfortable with this conversation, we'll just put an implied "Hypothetically" in front of every comment.

I grew up, my formative years, in the 70's and early 80's. I graduated high school in 1983.
Being a metalhead in Texas rocked...there was a great deal of rebellion against the country music that was forced down our throats. You couldn't get more rebellious.

I started playing guitar very young, acoustic, country. BY the time I was about 9, if I remember right, I had discovered metal guitar and had appropriated an electric and an amp that my brother- who was off in the army- had purchased and never played. He ended up giving it to me.
My friends and I would get together and try to recreate Black Sabbath, and Rainbow, and Deep Purple. We had no internet, nothing to really help us figure out how in the hell those bands were making those sounds! It was insane.
Then we were introduced to certain...helpful substances. Marijuana, mushrooms, LSD, mescaline...I think we tried everything back then. We would have a blast, 13 or 14 years old now, drinking and taking whatever we had and just jamming. We managed to find the sound. Coincidence? Evil_monster
Oddly enough, we all grew up to be useful, productive citizens, and everyone in my crowd, at least, earned a bachelors degree or better. Guess the PMRC was wrong, eh?
But these years of experimentation and indulgence were surprising, to me...there are drugs that don't seem to be harmful at all, that have been used for millennia by indigenous peoples, that really open your mind.
Now when I say "not harmful", obviously anything can be harmful if abused...so I mean "not addictive" and "harmless unless abused severely".