Poll: If you had it to do over, would you come out athiest again?
This poll is closed.
Yes 100.00% 7 100.00%
No 0% 0 0%
Total 7 votes 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Fight or Flight?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
26-12-2015, 01:12 AM
Fight or Flight?
I have been listening to Seth for a couple of years now and it was enough therapy to get me by. Until today.

I am a strict rationalist having given up my protestant upbringing gradually over the last few years. My wife is mostly agnostic and we have agreed to raise our children in a secular household due to my concern about indoctrination. I believe it was my upbringing that made my de-conversion so guilt ridden and painful and I do not wish it on my children.

Anyhow, my mother-in-law is a died-in-the-wool Roman Catholic. She goes to church at least twice a week, volunteers with the church and denies evolution. She has been on religious pilgrimages in the Middle East where she claims to have witnessed an exorcism. You can imagine why I have not come out as an atheist (rationalist) to her, although I suspect she has a pretty good idea that something is up between me and the invisible man in the sky. I have delayed in doing so for a few reasons:

Why breach the peace?
Will it do more harm than good?
Why is it any of her business?

So Nana came to our house to spend the Christmas Holidays with her grandchildren. On day 1, December 23rd, she got our 4 year old daughter help her stick a magnetic nativity scene on our refrigerator and then proceeded to give her a lesson on what it meant. I began to protest to my wife and she said, "What's one day?" And I digressed, woefully. After all, it's Christmas.