Finally discovered I'm an atheist, Thank God! Lol.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
07-12-2013, 12:47 PM
Finally discovered I'm an atheist, Thank God! Lol.
Well this is my first post on here so I guess introductions are in order. I've hovered around these boards for a while, and finally joined the other day. I've learned a lot from many of you, as well as outspoken atheists on YouTube.
I'm from Cincinnati Ohio, just shy of dodging the Bible belt. So I grew up in a typical black Christian family. I've always been outspoken with my radical opinions, at least until recently.
Politics was a subject I frequently talked about on Facebook and IRL, but it wasn't until the past few months I started studying religion, again and really began pissing people off.
Two years ago, I started studying religion and was beginning to doubt. (I had this skewed view of reality, thinking the illuminati caused pretty much all the bad things in the world) Studying politics with a deep seeded religious background made me believe rich, powerful or bad people most likely sold their soul to Satan or whatever. I began believing maybe the Illuminati made changes to the Bible in order to control people on ahigher level than just our court system. (Which was at least a step in the right direction)
But then my fiancée passed away, which ironically made me cling to God even more than before. I guess the hope of being able to see her again is really all I wanted. Plus I had an extreme fear of death, which made that whole situation worse. So, after her funeral there was a guy who asked me "was she Christian?, I said yes and he says "thank God". It wasn't until later I realized, wait here we are surrounded by her Asian family, and you ask about her being Christian. So what about the rest of her family? Will you be saying thank God even though they are Buddhist? So what do you really think about these people, hopefully they'll find Christ and not burn in hell forever?