First Time Poster, Long Time Athiest

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
07-02-2016, 10:13 PM
First Time Poster, Long Time Athiest
Hi All!

Just getting my feet wet. Been busy engaging the Tod Starnes fans on Foxnews.com, and wanted to find a home to post some of my better stuff. Every so often I find a gaping hole in the logic of religion, and while I realize I probably didn't come up with any of it first, I would like to disseminate it for review.

My background is simple--my parents allowed me to choose my religious affiliation(s) from the time I was 7. I opted out of all of them.

By the time I was in HS, I was a known Atheist in Southern Baptist Land.

Talk about FUN!!!

Early in college I converted to Christianity. Next, I found a girlfriend and realized that the whole, "Thou shalt not enjoy your penis nor any part of her" was a rule I was just not that enthusiastic about. Also saw the hypocrisy of other Christians and was not impressed.

Left Christianity, and have spent the last 3 decades wishing Christians would stop trying to rule the Universe and bring back the Dark Ages.

I do ... suspect ... that there is some spiritual aspect to the Universe. Something more than just the hard sciences contemplate. What it is... dunno. I do sometime practice rituals with Native Americans or Wiccans, but it is more the "man in nature" aspect than any deities. The fact we are a part of Nature cannot be denied, so I am comfortable with all nature-based (i.e. pagan) religions.

Aside from that, looking for a home to bounce ideas around. Miss discovering new Hitchens videos on YouTube--hope I will find novel ideas here to fill the void.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
07-02-2016, 11:18 PM
RE: First Time Poster, Long Time Athiest
Welcome to TTA.

Step right in.

07-02-2016, 11:19 PM
Welcome. Points for being a Wombat.
[+] 1 user Likes Hobbitgirl's post
07-02-2016, 11:26 PM
Welcome!