First time here

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-12-2013, 07:09 PM
First time here
Hello all! This is my first time in this forum. I have been checking in on the site for a time for a few months now.
I am what I guess I would now call a "recovering evangelical." I have been for some time now, when I think about it.
I spent 18 years as a "committed christian" and I have gotten so tired of so much of it... from christians themselves to the the dogma itself.
This is a really weird time in my life. I never thought I would be going in this direction, or that I would ever be visiting an atheist website or reading books about people who have made their way away from fundamentalist evangelicalism. I just wanted to know if anyone else had ever done this or been where I am. Surprise! There are more out there than I thought.
I am fortunate enough to have a family that doesn't believe the basic christian beliefs (about the bible and jesus and such) so they are actually happy that I am getting out of the bubble. I feel that way myself - that I have been in a protective bubble for years, and now I am finally really seeing what's actually around me. I am not planning to become atheist so far, but from what I have seen and heard here, it seems like I can talk about my frustrations with christianity and NOT get told I am going to go to hell. Some things I have learned about non-christians is just NOT true. My family is a bunch of moral people (not christians). There are such disturbing things in the OT part of the bible and the answers christians give just are not good enough. Telling me to just "stop reading the OT and just read more comfortable sections" isn't a good enough reason. The view of women in the bible is just disturbing as well. And the similarities I didn't know between the bible and myths are crazy to learn about. Not to mention the contradictions.