Frameworks and Standards

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
23-02-2012, 09:49 AM
Frameworks and Standards
Question coming later, be patient. :-)

Background:
I am a lecturer in Service Management and Governance Best Practices (mainly around IT) and when I'm feeling playful (=obnoxious) I often ask my obviously religious audience whether their book is a framework or a standard.

When I say "obviously religious", I mean that I'm in Indonesia or Malaysia and the delegates are wearing, er, headgear.

It's relevant to the course because I need them to know the difference so to explain to those here that might not know: a standard is about "compliance" and contains words like "shall" and "should", whereas a framework is purely for guidance so "compatible" is a better word for what is aimed for.

Example:
The dashed white lines in the middle of the road are for guidance but the double yellow lines at the side of the road are supposed to be complied with (I think most countries have this system but if not, double yellow = no parking). In the UK they also have double red lines (around e,g, hospital entrances and exits) which means "NO FUCKING PARKING EVER or we will confiscate your children" (or something like that). This means that although both double yellow and double red both = no parking, yellow = you should not park and red = thou shall not park.

So,
when in a tussle with a muslim or xian friend who claims the word of god is their guidance or it's the book they live by, I ask if that means they approve of slavery etc. and they say no they just go by the "good bits".

I bet you see where this is going... it ends up with something like "if it's really the word of god, shouldn't you be complying with all of it?"

The frameworks (guidelines) and standards I teach (ITIL, COBIT, PRINCE2, ISO20000 etc) are continually being updated as new wisdom develops and, if I can use the phase, new morality is accepted.