Free from fear

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
27-08-2016, 03:01 PM
Free from fear
I was listening to The Thinking Atheist podcast today, which is something I've started to do a lot at work. I work as a room attendant, which is not a very positive job for me, and listening to Seth speak about various topics really helps me get through my shifts. Today I was listening to an older podcast about fear of death and how to deal with that topic as an atheist.
I'm sure former christians know how common fear of death is amongst themselves. Hell is not far away from their thoughts, even if they have lived a righteous life. In my church at least we believed that you could be a really good christian and yet be sent to hell because of one unpardoned sin. ONE sin. How scary!
I was very much a dedicated christian as a teenager, and yet I still was scared. It was literally the fear of hell and damnation that made me want to be saved. Years after that when I finally left the church I was even more afraid at first, especially of the rapture.
But as I listened to the podcast today, now that I have been atheist for about two years I realized I'm not afraid anymore. Right now I'm living in a new country that I love with my whole heart and I'm pursuing my dreams. I'm doing whatever I can to have a good life and I'm a lot happier than I was in the church. I've come to see death as just another part of life, a natural ending to the story, something that doesn't have to be ugly and scary. I think it's just beautiful that after all these years of fearing death I'm able to think like that. It's the beauty of atheism really, as it liberates us all to be who we truly are and embrace life with both arms.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 10 users Like marinesky's post
27-08-2016, 03:26 PM
RE: Free from fear
It's great to throw those shackles off, isn't it? You can read up on the history of how hell was developed here: