Friend thinks that bible prophecy proves the bible, need help on what to say.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
26-06-2012, 09:49 PM
A few of the prophecies she cited are 1 Kings 13:2 and 2 Kings 23:15-18 (about Josiah), Jeremiah 31:38-40 (the construction of the 9 suburbs of Jeruselm apparently fulfilled in 1948) and Isaiah 44:28, 45:1, 45:13 (about the accomplishments of Cyrus "the conquerer")

I already tried to talk about the vagueness of prophecies and hindsight bias. She responded with a bunch of "No, the prophecies are totally detailed enough to prove them"

I am not really good with spoken words nor am I an eloquent debater. I'd really appreciate any advice or talking points, thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
26-06-2012, 10:05 PM
Please help, I'm not good with spoken words nor am I an eloquent debater.

I tried to explain to her about the vagueness of the prophecies in the bible. Then I tried to tell her about hindsight bias but she stone walled me and I had a bad time explaining the level of detail that would be needed to actually prove a prophecy of that nature. I can provide any of the verses she cited if anyone asks for them.

Any advice or talking points would be appreciated, thanks.
26-06-2012, 10:23 PM (This post was last modified: 26-06-2012 10:27 PM by Starcrash.)
RE: Friend thinks that bible prophecy proves the bible, need help on what to say.
(26-06-2012 10:05 PM)That One Guy Wrote:  Please help, I'm not good with spoken words nor am I an eloquent debater.

I tried to explain to her about the vagueness of the prophecies in the bible. Then I tried to tell her about hindsight bias but she stone walled me and I had a bad time explaining the level of detail that would be needed to actually prove a prophecy of that nature. I can provide any of the verses she cited if anyone asks for them.