Friends and atheism

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
27-08-2013, 05:44 AM
Friends and atheism
Wow, it is truly remarkable the people you lose when you tell them you don't believe like they do anymore. The more people me and my husband tell, the less friends we have. I've heard stories online from other atheists who lost family and friends over non-belief, but I guess I thought it couldn't happen with my group of friends. I thought surely my group of Christian friends would love me and my husband regardless. Yet, my husband hasn't been invited to the weekly guys night since he told one of the guys about his atheism. My husband is so disappointed...and so am I. This only makes us more afraid to tell anyone else! I don't care if my friends want to be Christians; I just want to be accepted for my atheism! I feel so looked down upon.

It's tough going from a whole community of people who are your "church family" to not really being sure who your friends are. I'm new to atheism this year. What did you guys do about making new friends?

"Most people are other people.
Their thoughts are someone else's opinions,
their lives a mimicry,
their passions a quotation."
-Oscar Wilde
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
27-08-2013, 07:37 AM
RE: Friends and atheism
Atleast you have us Tongue

KC IS A LIAR!!!! HE PROMISED ME VANILLA CAKES AND GAVE ME STRAWBERRY CAKE Weeping
[+] 1 user Likes Lightvader's post
27-08-2013, 11:16 AM
(27-08-2013 07:37 AM)Lightvader Wrote:  Atleast you have us Tongue

That is exactly why I'll be spending more time on the forum! I now understand why atheists live online. lol

their lives a mimicry,
-Oscar Wilde
27-08-2013, 02:04 PM
My time spent online is way more than the time socializing in real live Sad

KC IS A LIAR!!!! HE PROMISED ME VANILLA CAKES AND GAVE ME STRAWBERRY CAKE Weeping
27-08-2013, 11:18 PM (This post was last modified: 27-08-2013 11:23 PM by Swedgen.)