Funeral advice

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
10-02-2014, 04:43 PM
Funeral advice
I'm a high school student and one of my classmates just died in a plane crash along with her mom and grandparents. We weren't extremely close, but I guess you could call us friends. Her funeral is coming up, and my parents think I shouldn't go. They're both very devout Catholics, and they say that since the family was Christian it would be disrespectful for me to attend. I really feel like I should go and show my support, though. Thoughts?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
10-02-2014, 04:57 PM
RE: Funeral advice
I'm sorry for your loss. I've never heard of that. Maybe your parents have other reasons? I wouid try to talk about it.

My family was mostly catholic and that's never stopped us from honoring the dead.

[Image: mrhanky.jpg]

Wind's in the east, a mist coming in
Like something is brewing and about to begin
Can't put my finger on what lies in store
but I feel what's to happen has happened before...

10-02-2014, 09:31 PM
I would go. It is not in the slightest bit disrespectful.
[+] 1 user Likes Pippen's post
10-02-2014, 09:49 PM
Exactly what is disrespectful about paying your respects to a friend? I'm astounded that they would think it inappropriate for you to be there.

"It's a most distressing affliction to have a sentimental heart and a skeptical mind.”
― نجيب محفوظ, Sugar Street
10-02-2014, 10:44 PM
As the first reply suggested ...you should talk to your parents.
And when you do ask them 'how is showing respect and compassion for my friend and their grieving family disrespectful' and then 'in what way are you going against the tenants of your religion/church by saying farewell to your christian friend'.