Gene Duplication question

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
11-05-2015, 08:28 PM
Gene Duplication question
Okay, so the more I look into evolution (I'm new to in depth study on it) , I am absolutely amazed at how beautifully it connects life together.

I recognize that Gene Duplication is a major mechanism for new DNA being added to the geneome, and thus is an important part of evolution on the large scale. The great part is, even if the duplicate has a bad mutation, the organism isn't harmed becuase it has the original gene as well.

However also know that Downs syndrome can be caused by having an extra copy of chromosome 21. This has me sort of stumped on the idea of gene duplication. If it's just an extra copy, why is it harmful? Shouldn't there be no real effect on the individual?

I know I'm missing something and would like some clarification.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
11-05-2015, 08:51 PM
RE: Gene Duplication question
(11-05-2015 08:28 PM)Itsdemtitans Wrote:  Okay, so the more I look into evolution (I'm new to in depth study on it) , I am absolutely amazed at how beautifully it connects life together.

I recognize that Gene Duplication is a major mechanism for new DNA being added to the geneome, and thus is an important part of evolution on the large scale. The great part is, even if the duplicate has a bad mutation, the organism isn't harmed becuase it has the original gene as well.

However also know that Downs syndrome can be caused by having an extra copy of chromosome 21. This has me sort of stumped on the idea of gene duplication. If it's just an extra copy, why is it harmful? Shouldn't there be no real effect on the individual?

An extra copy of an entire chromosome contains duplication of many, many genes. It is also a structural difference in the reproductive machinery.

Skepticism is not a position; it is an approach to claims.
Science is not a subject, but a method.
[Image: flagstiny%206.gif]