God and dying children

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
16-05-2011, 11:04 PM

God and dying children
I work as a nurse in a long term care facility for medically fragile and technology dependent children. Most of these children are slowly dying, and for the most part have been abandoned, or at the very least, have very few visits by their ( very Christian) families. I have known some of these kids for six or seven years and have become very attached to most of them.

Some on occasion, will ask me about God and Heaven, I normally lie through my teeth and tell the younger ones what ever they want to hear. I am just wondering at what age ( we have kids until they are 21) I should be truthful with what my real beliefs are. I was a Christian when I started hear seven years ago, but if suffering kids don't turn you into an atheist, I don't know what will.

Thanks for any advice.
Quote this message in a reply
17-05-2011, 01:32 AM

RE: God and dying children
Tell em while they're infants, before they get attached to the whole idea.
17-05-2011, 02:41 AM
I would admit you don't believe as they do, that you are not convinced there is a heaven, and that that is fine. People can have differences of opinions and theres nothing wrong with that. I wouldn't try to breed little atheists, but I suppose it would be alright to ask them why they believe what they do.

"I do not feel obliged to believe that the same God who has endowed us with sense, reason and intellect has intended us to forego their use." - Galileo

"Every man is guilty of all the good he did not do." - Voltaire
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
17-05-2011, 05:13 AM
(16-05-2011 11:04 PM)Jumping Atheist Wrote:  Most of these children are slowly dying, and for the most part have been abandoned, or at the very least, have very few visits by their ( very Christian) families.
Please please please tell me your exaggerating... Sad

This is a though one...