Good things, bad things, stress, responsibility, my work life.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
15-09-2014, 09:02 PM (This post was last modified: 15-09-2014 09:49 PM by Adrianime.)
Good things, bad things, stress, responsibility, my work life.
Alright, this might seem trivial to you guys, or it might completely click to those who work in project-based work environments.

But work just got stressful. And usually I'm pretty anti stress. This will basically be a rant, so read for your own enjoyment. Comments are appreciated.

To briefly describe my work situation. I'm a software developer focusing on database development for the back end of an application used by several banks and law firms. I came into this role 2 years ago, as my second professional job out of college, but my first development role. Our team is VERY small relative to the scale of our product.

When I joined we had 2 guys my age, 2 guys between 30 and 40, and 2 guys over 50 (my boss and my boss' boss). Work's generally really good. My bosses only have great things to say about me and they've given me decent raises without me asking for them. But they also keep insisting that I'm a leadership type and keep giving me more and more responsibility. Which is fine, I can normally handle anything that is thrown at me. But the last 6 months or so have been ...so ugh. Note the development team is 1/3rd of the technical aspect of the company, and the technical aspect is like 20% of the whole company.