Greeting from a Christian

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
27-02-2013, 11:53 AM
Greeting from a Christian
Hello all,

I am a twenty-something software engineer living in Minneapolis. I am a prolific cyclist (at least in the warmer months), amateur blogger, and audiophile metalhead. And yes, I am a Christian. I was considering keeping my beliefs a secret as I explored this forum, but that would have been dishonest.

What is a Christian doing on a forum for atheists? Well, I learned about TTA by reading Seth Andrews' new book and decided to check it out. Why was I reading Seth Andrews' book? Because I've had serious doubts and questions about Christianity myself, the kind that probably led many of you to reject your faith. But, somehow, I didn't. (Darn, so close!, you may be thinking) So I decided to read Deconverted (and also Godless) both to look for why this was so--how my story differed from Seth Andrews' or Dan Barker's--as well as to gain a better firsthand understanding of some prominent atheists' perspectives.

Anyway, the books were challenging and eye-opening. Through them I realized just how hollow and wooden so many Christian apologetic arguments, birthed and grown in the echo chamber of the "Christian bubble", must sound to skeptics. And I realized just how badly Christianity at large is failing both at answering honest doubts and questions in the church ("Just have more faith! Who are you to question God?") and at engaging in real dialog (not debates and conversion attempts) with the growing atheist community.

So, that's why I'm here, to pursue that kind of dialog. I don't consider myself some kind of "ambassador" of Christianity, and certainly not a missionary. I'm not here to argue or try to convince anyone to "see the light". I'm just here to talk, listen, and, hopefully, to understand better, if you'll have me.

"Know that we own minds that could devour the sun/And what we've done will remain although it's gone" - Scar Symmetry