Greetings from Germany

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
13-05-2012, 02:32 PM (This post was last modified: 20-05-2012 03:52 PM by Vosur.)
Greetings from Germany
Hey folks,

I'm a 17 years old student from Germany. I'm interested in philosophy and psychology, which is why I'm planning to study the latter one after taking my A levels. I've stumbled upon this forum after watching the two parts of "Top Ten Creationist Arguments" on YouTube and decided to create an account here once I had finished reading this glorious thread.

I was raised christianly by a baptist pastor and since I was taught that the christian God exists at an early age, I had no choice but to believe that what I was told is true. I didn't even know anything about the bible, I didn't know what was written in the OT and NT, so I also didn't know how many contradictions and violence it contains.

It was much later, at the age of 14 to be specific, that I started to doubt my religion. At that time, I was finally taught how to think critically, which caused me to begin reflecting my morals and faith. I realized that there was no reason to believe in something that you can't prove and that is only mentioned in ancient books. I also couldn't believe that God was supposed to be loving and caring when he ordered his "children" to commit genocide for trivial reasons over and over and over again. This, combined with the lack of any personal experience with God, allowed me to give up on my religion and become an Atheist/Agnostic.

I have to admit that my life has become increasingly better ever since. Looking back from today, I can tell that it was horrible to be deluded enough to believe in such nonsense. Contrary to that, being able to question anything feels great, I enjoy and use this freedom as much as I can.

Judging by what I've read so far, I think I'm going to have a great time on here.

[Image: 7oDSbD4.gif]
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply