Greetings from Texas, via Wisconsin

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
03-07-2017, 10:13 AM
Greetings from Texas, via Wisconsin
Hello! I'm ElenTikvah, feel free to call me Tik. Smile

I am a 40-something professional woman, who has recently realized that I am no longer a believer.

I was raised in Primitive Baptist church, attended private Christian school K-5 grades (ACE), then my parents began homeschooling my brothers and I until I graduated high school (Abeka, ATI).

For the next few years, I completed apprenticeship training as midwife in Texas and Arkansas, and during this time completed a six-month mission trip working at a birth center in the Philippines.

In 1994, I received permission from my father to attend college, obtained my nursing degree and eventually received an advanced degree.

Throughout my life, I have always known the Bible. Some of my earliest childhood memories are quoting large passages from the Bible as instructed by my mom as she talked with Jehovah's Witnesses at our door. When I was six years, I made a confession of faith and thus began my official life as a Christian.

Until ~2012, despite having gotten an advanced degree and working professionally, I had worked all my life to be good Christian woman, recognizing my place in the home under the authority of my father and husband. At this time, I read two books that were life changing. A Matter of Basic Principles, and Half the Church by Carolyn Custis James. During this time as well, I discovered Recovering Grace and began the difficult process of extricating myself from the cultic teachings of Bill Gothard. This was the first obvious step to my deconversion, though I did not know it at the time.

Looking back further, I can see the initial steps beginning with my investigation of Judaism in the early 2000's and eventual rejection of the doctrine of the Trinity in Fall 2013.