Has losing your faith made it harder to enjoy some things?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
11-06-2012, 01:28 AM
Has losing your faith made it harder to enjoy some things?
For example: Tonight the Tony awards were on TV and one of the performances on the show was from a musical called "Leap of Faith". Now, when I first heard the title of the show, I kind of rolled my eyes and couldn't take any of the musical seriously because of the subject matter, even though the beat was catchy and the choreography was amazing. I'm a stage manager and, in the past, have appreciated a show for it's good qualities even if I don't agree completely with the overall message. Now, I find myself unable to be so removed. I've always been skeptical about there being a personal God but I've more recently gotten to the point where I think about it actively and have started speaking out about my lack of belief, causing it to be on my mind more often and for it to have a bigger impact on my day to day living.

I'm interested in seeing how many people have noticed things like this popping up in their lives and how they feel about the changes. Honestly, I'm kind of sad to find that I now have this awareness so I can't enjoy everything like I used to but, at the same time, I would never want to go back to ignorance or to just believing something because everyone else tells me to. Maybe it's kind of like cartoons. You can still watch them even in adulthood, but they lose that magic that they once had when you were a child.

Thoughts?

Isn't it enough to see that a garden is beautiful without having to believe that there are fairies at the bottom of it too?~ Douglas Adams
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes haniccol's post
11-06-2012, 06:02 AM
RE: Has losing your faith made it harder to enjoy some things?
Welcome to the forum Big Grin