Have you ever loved a christian or theist for that matter?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
31-10-2010, 06:06 AM

Have you ever loved a christian or theist for that matter?
And I mean the romantic kind of love. I know it may sound intrusive and abrupt since I'm just a newbie and I'm already asking stuff like this. If it makes you guys feel better, I'll share my experience first. Walls of text incoming.

So I met this girl five years ago, easy on the eyes, not too pretty and not to... abhor-able. Light on her feet, artful, cheery, couple of nuts loose, but good. By the time I met her, I was already questioning the ways of the church and the legitimacy of the bible. We started out fine, we go for friendly outings, play some videogames, share stuff with each other. I was like "Whoa, maybe she's the one. Maybe being a theist isn't so bad after all."

Some time passed since then, I was invited to join in their church, and I reluctantly joined just so I could always be in close proximity with her. The stories the pastor would teach us were of mass wars, killings, kidnapping, all spray coated with "love" and often accompanied with the words "because god knew it was best for all of us" and "god did it out of love for his children" and such. At the moment I was thinking "Wait, weren't the people they just killed ALSO the children of god? Then does that mean god practices favoritism?"

I just kept quiet all the time, listening intently while I questioned them deep down in me. Some time passed, I was informed that a member of our church was gravely ill and needed immediate medical attention, but chose to resort to what they call "faith healing." Me and some members of the church accompanied him to numerous churches that were famous for healing the sick. Week after week, the same routine but his condition took a turn for the worst. He died eventually, and I spoke "Why didn't you take him to a hospital? We would've stood a chance if we did."