Hello

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
31-12-2011, 07:32 AM
Hello
Hello! I go by Left Brain, you can shorten it to LB if that's easier though.
I'm a novice graphic designer and a moderator over at GFXForums.net I've recently taken interest in TheThinkingAtheist's youtube channel and decided to check out the site, noticed there was a forum and decided to sign-up since I like forums. I was relieved when it was a myBB forum because it's what I'm used to haha.

My story..
I'm 15 years old and I live in Mississippi, 90% of the people I know are Christian here. I was raised a Christian, went to church every now and then, my family isn't hardcore devoted but they do believe Jesus is the savior God is the holy father and all of that good stuff. I started going to church with friends on Wednesday nights when I was 12

When I was 13 years old I was currently being homeschooled for my first year and my dad got me a science book that was based off of Christian teachings. In the book it told you everything about science, then it told you "the truth", how scientists aren't trustworthy and that we must all read what the bible truly says, the flood was real, evolution is not etc. (I wish I still had the book so I could get some of the direct quotes but it's long gone now) This sparked my interest because it all sounded like bullshit (for a lack of better words) so I began to question the Bible. Since I was homeschooled I had a lot of free-time on my hands and I read the bible.. 3 times. I started to see the lies in the bible, but I wanted so bad to believe it was all true. I kept asking god if he was there and got no response. I even tried testing god and put myself in situations where it was, "If you can help me right now, I'll believe you're real." and nothing would ever happen. After that I kept thinking, asking questions, and doing my research. I've ended up where I am today, a happy Atheist.

This year I've embraced Atheism, told my friends, family etc.