Hello. Old Newbie here

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
22-05-2013, 05:34 PM
Hello. Old Newbie here
Hello all

I was raised in a very religious family, but it didn't take. By high school I was pretty well free of religion, although as I remember, it was more a fact of just ignoring religion altogether rather than any active thoughts on the subject. But... By the time I got back from Vietnam, I knew full well that no benevolent hand was guiding the human race. Or, if I happened to be wrong, he/she needed to be indicted for incompetence.

Interestingly, even my parents (a WWII couple) gradually lost their beliefs over the years. By the time of their 60's, I don't believe I ever saw them go to church again.

I live in the lower half of the Bible belt, but in actual fact, except for there being a church about every half mile, religion here is pretty well invisible to me. Of course, I only personally know about three atheists besides me out of many dozen acquaintances. Not many around, or they keep a low profile.

Maybe I will find more on here.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users Like morlock's post
22-05-2013, 08:45 PM
RE: Hello. Old Newbie here
(22-05-2013 05:34 PM)morlock Wrote:  Hello all

I was raised in a very religious family, but it didn't take. By high school I was pretty well free of religion, although as I remember, it was more a fact of just ignoring religion altogether rather than any active thoughts on the subject. But... By the time I got back from Vietnam, I knew full well that no benevolent hand was guiding the human race. Or, if I happened to be wrong, he/she needed to be indicted for incompetence.

Interestingly, even my parents (a WWII couple) gradually lost their beliefs over the years. By the time of their 60's, I don't believe I ever saw them go to church again.