Hello all!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
09-01-2012, 02:00 PM
Hello all!
ello everyone! I'm a 17 y.o. senior high school student from Finland, and I finally decided to join this site. I've watched many videos from YouTube, and they have given my lots of good information and thoughts concerning atheism, and the way I see life.

Okey so, a year back I was still a believer. I believed in God, the Bible and so on. My family weren't religious, but the local community was attractive, and many of my friends were there so, it felt like a good choice back then. I had my moment of doubts but hey, when you have a loving God on your side, what could possible affect your fate?

But, so it come down to that point, when I had no other choice than start to rethink my religious values. During one camp, I was a minor teacher (kind of a squad leader), and one of my pupils asked me:
"If God is good and all-loving, why does he slaughter small infants?"
And my answer was:
"Well, hmm, weeeellll..... you now, it goes like......."
And in my mind I were like:
"Bloody hell, I don't know!!"
I promised him, that I would ask the priest about it, and so I did. And the priest answer was:
"Not every God's action can be explained. You just have to trust him"

After that, I retreated to my room, and I read the Bible. And, I didn't find any answers. Nothing at all. It spoke so well about the sacrifice of Jesus, but it never justified the slaughter of innocents. Actually, it was more like that those who God has killed, deserved it.

Than time went by, and my doubts began to rise. In the teachings, nobody ever said a word about God's evil actions: it was all about praise and glory of the one almighty. My questions were never fully answered: they avoided the question with religious jargon, and the "Hey, God loves you, even though you are a doubting Thomas"