Hello from California

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
18-09-2012, 05:11 PM
Hello from California
Greetings posters,

I am a 42 year old male living in southern California since birth. I have 3 kids aged 22, 20 and 11. I am a Software QA Engineer for a chip manufacturer based in the US. I live in the part of southern California known as the Inland Empire.

I have been an atheist (still not 100% comfortable using the term yet) for an indeterminate amount of time. My best estimate is about 5-10 years. Let me explain: my transition from believer to non-believer remains fuzzy in my memory (along with many other things). I was apparently not entirely aware the process was occurring so it's difficult for me to draw a line somewhere.

I was raised by my mother, a moderately practicing Methodist. It's actually difficult for me to clearly recall how much I believed and how much I dismissed of what I was exposed to in my youth religiously. Later, when I attended a private school for "gifted" children (I felt like the stupidest kid ever at that school) I befriended some of the nerdier kids in the school. I wish I knew if I began to identify as atheist at that time because I wanted to fit in with them, or because I genuinely realized I did not believe. I wish I knew for sure, but I can't say with any certainty.

I chose to leave that school in favor of a public high school. Looking back, part of me regrets this decision, but in all honesty, as with many parts of my youth, this was motivated by my gonads. I wanted to meet girls who didn't associate me with geeks. Of course, my plan failed miserably. I was around plenty such girls at this school, but I was still a geek at heart....in 1986...when being a geek was still....well....geeky.