Hello from Charlotte, NC

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
17-04-2011, 07:24 AM
Hello from Charlotte, NC
Hi Everyone. Smile

I'm new here since the other day. I found The Thinking Atheist on YouTube and had to come check out this site. I've been a full blown atheist now for about a year and before that I went through a period of being agnostic/liberal Christian. I was raised conservative Southern Baptist and my family has a strong influence in the church with my father as a deacon and my mother the organist. I started to question god and the Bible after 3 miscarriages and my husband almost committing suicide from depression. After the 3rd miscarriage a religious "friend" informed me that perhaps god allowed my babies to die because he knew I just wasn't ready to be a mother. I was so vulnerable those years and decided to dive deeper into my faith. The more I studied the Bible the more I started to see things that I didn't like about the character of God. The more I studied the less I believed and I certainly didn't love this supernatural creature that wanted to burn me alive forever because I didn't have enough faith. Finally being able to stay pregnant with my son and daughter and seeing their precious faces was the final nail in my religious coffin. I was scared to death that this "loving god" would eventually destory them too. Once I let go of my belief and embraced the truth my life has been so much simpler. I'm still in the stages of trying to find my own way. I spent 13 years in one church and all my friends and social life was centered around it. I'm having to try and venture out and find new friends outside of religion and sometimes I fell alone being in the Bible belt. I regret sending my daughter to a church preschool and I'm having to undo the damage now as she's 6-years-old and in kindergarten. I just signed my son up for a secular preschool that centers on science and I hope not to instill a superstitious belief of god into him but reason and logi