Hello from Jersey

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-03-2011, 11:16 AM

Wink Hello from Jersey
Hello all!

After browsing the forums a bit while waiting for Stark to manually activate my account due to some technical glitch (I can almost hear a believer saying "It was God that made it so difficult for you to join. He is trying to tell you something!"), I was debating whether to add an introduction in the single thread or as others have done, create a new one. Needless to say, my narcissistic need for attention won out. Plus, it will give me a chance to flex my writing muscles. So here I am. Prepare to read! Tongue

My name is Dan, I'm 36, and I'm a programmer. I was raised Roman Catholic but to be honest I never truly felt like there was a God. I just did things; prayer, church, etc. because that's what I was taught. And while I never, until recently, explored the depths of my atheism I know that I never really believed in the concept of a God.

I've been married for just over 4 years to a woman who was raised Muslim. She does not consider herself Muslim any longer although she does believe in a supernatural force of creation. Her current beliefs are a bit of a hodge-podge of various beliefs. Believes in a soul. Doesn't believe in the Bible's version of creation per se but does believe that humans were created in some way. To her credit she does believe that all religions are a farce and are man-made structures built to control people. I'm still working on her subtly but even if she never comes around to atheism, I'll be happy that she has at least shed the binds of religion. Regardless, she doesn't inflict her beliefs on me or our son so if it works for her, I don't have a problem with it. We both scoff at religion with the same level of moral contempt.

That said, I consider it a victory that we have both agreed to raise our son, Émile, free from religion. Big Grin