Hello from Joja

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
19-03-2011, 03:35 PM
Hello from Joja
I'm a police officer for a metro-Atlanta agency. Been listening to the podcast for a few months, figure I'd join up here and say 'hi'.

I look forward to hearing from y'all.

I am an Atheist- and I know of at least one other at my job that is also an Atheist. He never told me directly, but when asked about the Bible, he said "I don't believe none of that sh*t!"

I normally don't like to announce my profession. But since there are Atheists out there that distrust police- especially since many police in the south are religious- I figure it's important to let folks know there are some of us behind the badge.

Be polite.
Be efficient.
Have a plan to kill everyone you meet.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
19-03-2011, 10:11 PM
RE: Hello from Joja
Luckily I don't have too many run ins with the cops, and when I do they have more to worry about than my religion =p

I'm not a non believer, I believe in the possibility of anything. I just don't let the actuality of something be determined by a 3rd party.
19-03-2011, 10:15 PM
Fair enough. I've heard some of my peers give the "Come to Jesus" speech to some people we've had run-ins with, offenders, witnesses, and victims alike. It's very annoying.

Equally annoying is many of the "blue laws" down here in the south. Particularly the ones that dictate how two consenting adults behave in the bedroom.

Be polite.
Be efficient.
19-03-2011, 10:42 PM
well I'm in MO so mid-west which is back and forth compared to the south, and generally the fact that I'm legally male makes any other conversation moot. I guess that's a perk about being intersexed? The police give up on their stupid stories because they have something real to complain about?

I hope you're not being pressured for the good old boy mindset of male cops. They really have aggressive and dangerous ideas of how men with power should act.