Hello from Norway.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
22-01-2012, 09:17 PM
Hello from Norway.
Hello! I'm a a 21 year old Norwegian guy living in Oslo, I'm a university student studying game design. I let go fully of religion for about 4 months ago, and I told my parents that I am a Atheist this Christmas. They think I'm just in some sort of phase so I would not say that they have fully accepted it yet. They are disappointed but at least they respect my choice.
So as I was typing this I just felt the urge to share my story and how I ended up as an Atheist, It's nothing special but I feel like I have to get it off my chest.

I grew up in a christian home, In what I would call the Norwegian bible belt. I would say I was pretty brain washed from the get-go. As a kid I was Bombarded with christian media-,cartoons, movies and books etc etc. I was forced to go on every Sunday-meeting, Tears did not help. Hearing my mother and father preach in their house church (or Cell group I guess you can call it) was what mattered, same rules applied to my two younger brothers.
As a young child I did not know of anything else then Christianity as the only answer to everything. I was not allowed to watch documentaries that contradicted my parents belief, but my parents loved nature programs. So at occasions we would watch one that they thought would be 'safe'. while watching documentary a sentence like "..and what you can see here evolved from.." my mother and father would let out a long sigh while making a "tsk" sound and shake their heads slowly. This meant that they obviously did not approve of what was just said on the TV.