Hello from a recovering theist

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
06-04-2017, 07:23 AM
Hello from a recovering theist
Hello, all!

About 5 months ago I finally said the words "I am an atheist." I had been doubting for a few years. I was raised a Baptist, graduated from a Baptist school and went to a Bible college. I never in a million years would have thought my journey would take me here.

I haven't told my family. I think right now it's just easier to not rock that boat. My relationship with my family is already rocky. I think this may sink that ship.

I recently found podcasts like The Thinking Atheist. I am reading Seth's book and his experiences mirror mine in so many ways.

Thank you all for having me! Smile
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 6 users Like qpmomma's post
06-04-2017, 07:27 AM
RE: Hello from a recovering theist
Welcome qpmomma. Glad to count you in our ranks.

“I am quite sure now that often, very often, in matters concerning religion and politics a man’s reasoning powers are not above the monkey’s.”~Mark Twain
“Ocean: A body of water occupying about two-thirds of a world made for man - who has no gills.”~ Ambrose Bierce
[+] 1 user Likes Full Circle's post
06-04-2017, 07:28 AM
Welcome!

Well done for having the courage to say it, and to battle your way out. This a great supportive community, I hope you find a home here.

I have a website here which discusses the issues and terminology surrounding religion and atheism. It's hopefully user friendly to all.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
[+] 1 user Likes Robvalue's post
06-04-2017, 07:31 AM
Welcome aboard!

Help for the living. Hope for the dead. ~ R.G. Ingersoll

Freedom offers opportunity. Opportunity confers responsibility. Responsibility to use the freedom we enjoy wisely, honestly and humanely. ~ Noam Chomsky
[+] 1 user Likes Fatbaldhobbit's post
06-04-2017, 07:36 AM
(06-04-2017 07:23 AM)qpmomma Wrote:  Hello, all!