Hello to all

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
18-03-2017, 12:35 PM
Hello to all
I am exploring atheism, after a life time of Christianity and New Age. Well, by life time I mean 23 years. I am not anti-theist, I respect spirituality/religion but I just don't think it's for me anymore(e.g. I personally don't believe in it). So I am here to make new friends, learn new things, and find my new path.

I didn't know what else to read so I bought Dawkin's The God Delusion. Any other books you guys would recommend for a new atheist? Not necessarily against the Christian god, I am more interested in reading against all religions in general...

Thanks for having me here. Smile P.s. I am not a debater as I have this image in my head many atheists are... (please correct me if that's wrong, I am new to this), I just interested in truth and following that...
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 4 users Like hayleymayonline's post
18-03-2017, 01:01 PM
RE: Hello to all
(18-03-2017 12:35 PM)hayleymayonline Wrote:  ---
I didn't know what else to read so I bought Dawkin's The God Delusion. Any other books you guys would recommend for a new atheist? Not necessarily against the Christian god, I am more interested in reading against all religions in general...
---

I highly recommend Christopher Hitchens' God Is Not Great.

If you want to have it read to you, Audible.com has it available read by Hitchens' himself. It doesn't get much better than that. Shy

A new type of thinking is essential if mankind is to survive and move to higher levels. ~ Albert Einstein
18-03-2017, 01:01 PM
Hey there Smile

In my experience most atheists just get on with life. There's a few of us that enjoy a good debate, and I think they are generally drawn to forums so they show up in greater density.

But there's no need to join in any debate to enjoy a forum such as this!