Hello to all from a new member

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
21-02-2017, 05:36 PM
Hello to all from a new member
I found this forum after looking for a place with like minded members. A little backstory about myself. I work as a Captain on the only Hazardous Materials Unit for the largest Fire Dept. in the state. I've worked for the Fire Dept for 23 years and it is in my opinion one of the best jobs I could have chosen. I graduated with a Business Administration degree but only used it for about eight months before landing a job with the Fire Dept.

I grew up in Hawaii, California, and Virginia until my parents divorced when I was in my mid teens. We moved back to the South where my Grandparents lived and I have lived here (unfortunately) ever since. I'm married with an 11 year old daughter.

So enough of my history. I am an Atheist and have been since around the age of 14. I was brought up in church and went every day that the doors were open. But around the age of 14 I started questioning what I was being taught and so I studied. I became enamored with science and learning about the "why and how" things are the way they are. I hold no grudge against the church although I disagree vehemently against the teachings and dogma forced into children at an early age. I fully stand up for the right to believe whatever you wish as long as it does no harm to another. My parents are devout Christians so you can imagine I'm the "black sheep" of the family lol. Although my Mother and I have come to a mutual understanding there is still some animosity that I figure will always remain.