Help with evangelical methodists

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
17-08-2011, 06:07 AM

Help with evangelical methodists
Hello. I`m Atheist.
This is my first time here, and i would like to ask some help from you guys.
So a year or so ago my family members joined "evangelical methodist church" , as far as i know they come from US and are in some sort of ?mission? here in my country (Eastern Europe). I know my family members are not radical Christians or nut jobs, so there is still hope to reason with them, at-least not to drag their children with them.

So could you please help me, give some pointers on how to deal with "evangelical methodists" some resources on them. Some good dirt, or contradictions, reasoning. I need help.
Thank you for any help.
Quote this message in a reply
17-08-2011, 10:58 AM
RE: Help with evangelical methodists
Here is the website of the church.

http://emchurch.org/

But before you try to talk your parents out of joining, shouldn't you at least consider the possibility that they might be right?

The information in ancient libraries came from real minds of real people. The far more complex information in cells came from the far more intelligent mind of God.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
17-08-2011, 11:24 AM
Never mind the logic of theophilus; he's one of our guest creationist lunatics. Deluded beyond the point of perversity, but he's polite and friendly. That's why most of us (barely) tolerate him.

If you need information about the debility of religion as a whole, you'll find alot on TTA, just look around on the forums. Pay special attention to logical fallacies, as creationists have mastered most of them. You can easily get trapped in their faulty logic when not paying attention (red herring, tu quoque, non sequitur, reversal of the burden of proof etc.)