Hi, I'm new to the whole embracing reality thing.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
28-03-2014, 04:49 PM
Hi, I'm new to the whole embracing reality thing.
Hi everyone,

I grew up in a divided family - Mom was Catholic and Dad was a lukewarm non-believer. After working through most of my sacraments, my Dad intervened. He finally spoke up and asked me, and this was the first time anyone did ask me, if I even wanted to go to church.

Wanting much more to sleep in and hang out with my heathen friends, I emphatically said no. That was the last time, outside of funerals and weddings, that I set food in a Catholic church.

Despite my Dad's intervention, my Mom pressed on. She had her harmless quirks (doing the sign of the cross was a requirement to get in her car). She had her hero worship (for a while we had an ornamental plate with John Paul II hung up in the house). And all of it bugged me. But, it was some other stuff that scared me into long-term, reluctant belief.

I remember being in elementary school and working hard to memorize a series of prayers while sitting in church. Every time I'd open my eyes, I'd see the Stages of the Cross running the length of the walls. Being short on anything that even closely resembled adult cognitive ability, I had a purely instinctive and visceral response: fear. All I saw was violence. Just a grown up being beaten savagely and literally hammered into place on a cross. Blood pooling in his palms and so on.

Then came the horrors of hell. If I wasn't going to go to church, some family members were going to make damn sure that I knew the hell fire that was in store for me. I was still in elementary school when I first thought about hell - as if the crucifixion wasn't scary enough for a kid. I vividly remember my Mom and one of her friends explaining to me, "It's like your skin is burning off and melting. But, it never stops. Never ever."