Hi everyone (Ex Muslim)

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
30-10-2015, 05:13 PM
Hi everyone (Ex Muslim)
My name is Izel and I am 21 year old female from beautiful Izmir Turkey. Born and raised as Muslim, (modern muslim though) after I got into college I developed huge interest on science. I studied a lot about universe and evolution and I realized everything I been told growing up was a big fat lie. Even though we're very secular as a nation, leaving the religion is still a big no no in the society. I won't be publicly executed but I'm most likely to lose everyone I know in my life if I fully come out as atheist. My close family knows I am questioning my religion but I don't think they fully understand that I have completely parted my ways with God. Anyone that's in my situation, I'd appreciate if you share your story and how did you came out and what were the consequences. Thanks in advance.

1 Like = 1 Prayer
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 14 users Like izel's post
30-10-2015, 05:47 PM
RE: Hi everyone (Ex Muslim)
Hi there. Welcome to TTA.

There are many here in your situation and many who have been through it before... you are not alone.

We have some forum sections dedicated to "Deconversion Stories" and "Recovering from Religion" that will contain some advice. Browse around.

There are also some here who have decided that it's not wise to come out... it all kinda depends on personal circumstances and risk.

Find all posts by this user
[+] 1 user Likes DLJ's post
30-10-2015, 05:51 PM
Welcome!
[+] 1 user Likes jennybee's post
30-10-2015, 05:52 PM
Hello! Big Grin
[+] 1 user Likes Peebothuhul's post
30-10-2015, 05:57 PM
Well first off, Hello & welcome, izel! Shy

I'm openly atheist with anyone who asks me about it... except some of my close relatives.