Hi from Australia

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
14-10-2013, 05:34 PM
Hi from Australia
Hi everyone. I was born into a Christian home- my parents are both ministers. My mum says I was a born sceptic as when I was 3 years old everyone sat down for grace before the meal and I firmly told them 'Can't see, won't pray!'

I was lucky because my parents always took the approach of being open in their faith, giving us kids a firm foundation of what they believed, but when we got older told us that they couldn't carry our beliefs for us and if we believed in God it would be something we needed to come to for ourselves. I'll always be grateful for their desire for us to think for ourselves. Then in school I studied philosophy and a whole new world opened up. Genetics, ethics, euthanasia, abortion, questions about the mind/soul, etc. For the first time it wasn't enough to just have an opinion, but I had to know WHY I had that opinion. So if I believed in God I had to actually know why.

Even so, I'm sorry to disappoint but I've ended up firmly in the believer camp. but don't worry, I come in peace! I promise my parents are the only preachers in the family. I'm here because I enjoy learning what other people have to say, what arguments are used, and how people view my own beliefs because it challenges me to never be one of those mindless people who only believe what they're told rather than going after it themselves. What's the point of saying you believe something if you don't understand why you don't believe it?

Anyway sorry about the long intro, I've enjoyed reading some of these threads before as a guest and look forward to dipping into the conversation now and then
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes Yasmin's post
14-10-2013, 06:27 PM
RE: Hi from Australia
Hi. Welcome fellow Aussie .
So what category believer are you .? I presume its Christian based.

A: God》bang》evolution
B: God》7day creation》 fuzzy evolution