Hi, there!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-07-2015, 08:48 PM
Hi, there!
Hello, all.

I'm new here, and I want to introduce myself!

My name is Trevor. I'm 21 years old, and I'm studying to be a social worker. My areas of interest are hospital and geriatric social work, though I am also interested in policy and administration.

I come from a home that was not religious. My parents talked about God, but in the way people talk about Mother Earth - some omnipresent being looking after all of us, who always wants us to succeed, and who is there to blame misfortunes on.

My mother was very critical of organized religion. As an act of rebellion, I became a very conservative Christian in my teens, joining an Eastern Orthodox Church. I'm Polish and Ukrainian by heritage (with some French mixed in there, I admit), so the Church really became home for me. I got deep into it, and there was a point when I wanted nothing more than to become a monk in a monastery.

Then, at 16, I admitted to myself (with the help of a therapist) that I'm gay. I freaked out, but the priest at Church told me everything was cool as long as I was a lifelong celibate. I was okay with this. Religion was everything for me.

Then, at 18, I realized that I was miserable. We saw a documentary at school about North Korea, and I remember thinking how similar the blind obedience of those people was to people in my religious community, and how even their bows to photos of their leaders resembled bows to my holy pictures at home. I left the Church for about half a year. In that time, I lost a lot of weight, and I began to think better of myself and what my future could be with another guy.

I fell back into my old habit at 19. Church became a real comfort for me during my parents' divorce and the mess from that. Church didn't change, unlike my home life.