Hiding my interracial friend/relationship from my mom

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
23-04-2014, 09:15 PM (This post was last modified: 23-04-2014 09:19 PM by Ferdinand.)
Hiding my interracial friend/relationship from my mom
I made a thread about this recently, but it sort of escalated into a bigger problem. I planned on waiting until after I graduated to sit down and talk to my mom about my attraction towards people of other races. But the topic approached her itself...

I invited a boy over. The boy has a black parent and a white parent. All we did was watch American Horror Story, and I kept my door open. My mom was completely okay with it, and I explained to her that we're just friends (which we are- though I do admit I like him a lot, nothing has progressed.) My little sister was in my bedroom on my computer and all we did was watch Netflix and talk endlessly. Out of nowhere, my mom walks in and embarrasses the fuck out of me by lecturing him about interracial couples and how she "wasn't raised that way" as her excuse. I could tell she made him feel really uncomfortable, and after she left my room I apologized about a million times to him. As the day went by, my mom made us sandwiches and she was nicer to him. But he hardly ate anything, and I felt like the lecture was part of the reason why. She made him feel more welcomed when he left, and told him he could come over and watch more of American Horror Story with me because the seasons are very long. I stood outside with him and his friend and we all talked for a bit. Then my mom called me inside. As soon as he left, she began lecturing me, calling me a disappointment, said if I ever entered an interracial relationship she would disown me, and even said she would be more okay with me being a lesbian than being in an interracial couple. She ended the lecture by telling me that she didn't want me hanging out with him anymore, and she didn't approve of a friendship either.