Horrible username, but newbie here

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
01-02-2017, 08:06 PM
Horrible username, but newbie here
Hello everyone, I'm Ruby. My username is a bit on the 'meh' side or 'wow that's a horrible username' eh well half asleep and found this place.

Mostly joined because i live with some very conservative grandparents and parents for that matter. Which they have Bill O' Reilly playing right now and talking politics right now. So, trying to find like minded people to escape it all.

Well, a bit about myself. I've lived with them for over 18 years now, and will for another year or two because my aid for college says if I want aid I have to be with them. Then I'll have to find a job. Working to my job, it's a slow process being from a poor middle class family, but it's better then wasting away.

So, as I said lived with them for a while, came into Atheism when I was 16, once I started to question the contradictions my mom kept having me parrot. Living in a very rural southern area and seeing much prejudice to those who are not white evangelicals, and I say white as because most of the hate was from them.

Having to listen to Sean Hannity in the car to anything, about to pull out my hair. My mom saying some things that make me look very puzzled. That's just a bit of what I go through on a daily bases.

College is more open, and met some great people. But without anyone to talk to at home life I'm ready to snap. So, might get on here and blow off steam, engage in conversations, and get to know a bit more, open up to new things.

I guess that's it, that's all I got for an intro. Thanks! Smile

"Governments don't want well informed, well educated people capable of critical thinking That is against their interests.
They want obedient workers people who are just smart enough to run the machines and do the paperwork And just dumb enough to passively accept it."

- George Carlin
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply