Poll: How did life arise in the universe?
Via some natural process
Via the product of intellect
Life has always existed.
We don't know
[Show Results]
Note: This is a public poll, other users will be able to see what you voted for.
How did life arise in the universe?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
26-10-2014, 08:29 AM
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
26-10-2014, 08:50 AM
RE: How did life arise in the universe?
(26-10-2014 08:29 AM)Heywood Jahblome Wrote:  How did life arise in the universe?

Abiogenesis seems to me the most plausible answer, even if the details are still uncertain. I say this in the same way that I say that I say I think it's likely that Oswald shot Kennedy. It's the hypothesis that seems to have emerged on top of the controversy. I'm not an expert, and while I might be interested in reading up on it, I've got other things I want to study first. The question is of purely academic interest to me, and I am not the person to represent the subject. If you're interested, I suggest you go pick up a few journals on the subject. (Actual, peer-reviewed journals, not pop-science periodicals like Nat Geo.) Most university libraries will allow you free access to them. Take careful note of evidence being examined and processes being employed. I'd strongly recommend that you study the actual work, rather than limiting your inquiry to straw-manning of the subject by its detractors or even lay summaries by its proponents.

That said, I can guess from your posting this in Atheism and Theism forum and, well, from you being you, that you think the answer is God. I'm happy to agree to disagree on this point. I have neither obligation for nor interest in dissuading you from your faith.