How many of you find a price like $199.99 insulting?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
26-02-2012, 01:29 PM
How many of you find a price like $199.99 insulting?
We all know that the price is $200 plus tax.

The implication in the price full of nines is that we are total idiots who can not see through this really transparent and obvious manipulation of our perceptions.

Yet, people learnt to live with it, as with so many other idiotic techniques of capitalist brainwashing.

I bought a washing machine a year ago and the price tag was $599.99 – I told the sales person, in a relieved voice: “thanks god it isn’t $600 – I couldn’t afford that!”

She stared at me, not understanding the irony.

Are we, as a society that far gone?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
26-02-2012, 02:12 PM
RE: How many of you find a price like $199.99 insulting?
Since I work in sales and I use the same idiotic technique of capitalist mind-control, I don't see anything wrong with it.

Of course, you might also reference my response to your Jobs thread and recall that I don't like my work very much.

It was just a fucking apple man, we're sorry okay? Please stop the madness Laugh out load
~Izel
[+] 1 user Likes Erxomai's post
26-02-2012, 02:30 PM
Doesn't hat have to do with taxes?

[Image: dobie.png]

Science is the process we've designed to be responsible for generating our best guess as to what the fuck is going on. Girly Man
26-02-2012, 02:40 PM
Specialty shops often make more money by figuring the tax in already and just charging that much more. For stores to go by sales tax is a kind of silly phenomenon, but when you're a chain store that exists in many regions to change the price wherever the store is wouldn't quite work the same.