How to debate with a Christian?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
22-07-2013, 10:31 PM
How to debate with a Christian?
Quick back story. Everyone in my family is a Christian except me. I am not an atheist. I'm an agnostic. As Bill Maher says, I follow the religion of I don't know. Anyways, I always get in these debates which I'm not good at. Are there any websites or articles that list commonly asked questions by Christians to a person who doesn't believe and how to respond?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
22-07-2013, 11:40 PM
RE: How to debate with a Christian?
It really depends on the question and the person, I suppose. There aren't any hard-fast rules.

I can hold my own in a debate and dismantle common atheist retorts. It depends on how educated your family members are as well as their theology.

My suggestion is to study and educate yourself on the religion and topics of debate such as evolution/creationism.

[Image: vjp09.gif]
[+] 1 user Likes kingschosen's post
22-07-2013, 11:40 PM
The thinking atheist (Seth) has on his website a whole section devoted to refuting the bible.

Our forum has lots of information just search through the threads.

Wind's in the east, a mist coming in
Like something is brewing and about to begin
Can't put my finger on what lies in store
but I feel what's to happen has happened before...

22-07-2013, 11:55 PM
It took me some time to build up the information needed to counter their claims. Podcasts seem to be the quickest way to get the most variety. First and foremost I'd study up on logical fallacies. Just Google "christian logical fallacies" and that should get you through 90% of your conversations.
[+] 1 user Likes Hitched_Gibson's post
23-07-2013, 12:11 AM
Instead of picking fights or arguing

You can always start with the basics...

You're not angry with god, i.e., nothing bad happened to make you hate god
You're not being just rebellious
You don't believe in the devil