Human level AI

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
09-11-2016, 02:46 AM
Human level AI
I've seen a number of mentions of this in other threads so I assume it's a topic of interest.

The hardware requirements for this class of machine are quite different from classical AI, scientific, or engineering applications. As such, there is no hardware available today that could be used to build an efficient system of this type. You could build one by brute force, but the cost with current technology would be $10-20 billion.

You could probably get this down into the mainframe range of $20 million in five or six years. You could probably also reduce this to minicomputer prices of perhaps $2 million within ten years. I'm not a chip designer so it's difficult for me to say if a consumer level price is possible.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
09-11-2016, 11:39 AM
RE: Human level AI
TrueNorth® chip.

#sigh
[+] 2 users Like GirlyMan's post
11-11-2016, 11:03 AM
With only one response, this thread is likely to be short. I had thought this was a topic of interest; it seems not. The response was brief and without questions. This perhaps suggests confidence. I'm not sure where the confidence would come from other than maybe the length of time that IBM has been involved with computing.

Not mentioned was the Stanford Neurogrid board.

Neurogrid simulates a million neurons connected by billions of synapses in real-time, rivaling a supercomputer while consuming a 100,000 times less energy—five watts instead of a megawatt!

Not mentioned was Brain Scales.

Each 20-cm-diameter silicon wafer contains 384 chips, each of which implements 128,000 synapses and up to 512 spiking neurons. This gives a total of around 200,000 neurons and 49 million synapses per wafer.