I Am A Veteran (Kind of funny story)

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
11-11-2010, 04:55 PM

I Am A Veteran (Kind of funny story)
So, many moons ago, I served as a small arms repairer and paratrooper for the 82nd Airborne Division during the second phase of Operation Iraqi Freedom. Long story short, I had issues with anxiety/depression/suicide/etc... and ended up getting out. I wouldn't trade my combat experience for anything in the world, but knowing what I know now, I would probably not do it again. Especially, at the age I did.

Anyway, every year, I give a presentation to my wife's history classes regarding the positive and negative aspects of military life. Sure, it can be a great way to find self-esteem, discipline, and physical fitness. It also carries a higher risk of suicide, alcoholism, domestic abuse, and overall self-destruction if you're not careful.

Yesterday, I gave a pretty in-depth and graphic presentation. the kids responded well to it. We had enlightening and informative discussions.

When I came home, my wife called from the school and said, "I just got off the phone with a dad who was pretty pissed."

I thought, "Oh, fucking great. Now what?"

She said, "His son is in my fourth hour class and went home to tell him that some guy came in and gave a presentation trashing the military."

I was confused. As many issues as I have with the military, I am grateful for what it taught me and would not speak ill of it.

She said, "That's not even the worst part. His dad is a recruiter here in town."

So, I got his name and called his recruiting office personally. It was mildly awkward considering I haven't talked to a recruiter in eight years. I did some damage control and explained what my presentation was all about. I explained that not everyone has the same glorious military career and there are certain risks you take. He agreed and seemed satisfied with that answer.