I just won a scholarship

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
15-05-2013, 11:31 AM (This post was last modified: 16-05-2013 07:15 PM by ghostexorcist.)
I just won a scholarship
As some of you may know, I am currently majoring in anthropology with an emphasis on primate (including human) behavior and evolution. I originally majored in Chinese and art history before switching over to this. I originally dropped the Chinese because of funding issues, but, after picking up anthropology, I still kept the art history major as a backup. Well, it turns out this was a smart move because I was awarded a somewhat substantial art scholarship for having good grades. The art department chose 6 people to receive such scholarships. Five were studio art majors--i.e. those who work with paint, clay, and metal. I was the only art history major. I won't disclose the amount, but I'll just say it would be enough to cover most of my classes for a single semester (minus books and other fees). What's funny is that I had no idea that I was chosen. They apparently had an award ceremony and didn’t even think to invite me. I got an email the weekend after the event telling me that the “scholarship award packet” was waiting for me in the main office of the art building.

I’m a bit torn at the moment because I didn’t really intend on revisiting my art history major. This is more of an issue of time and cost than interest. Double majoring in art history and anthropology will only lengthen my time in school, as well as increase my debt (the army is only covering part of my tuition). But now it’s either return the money or jump back in. I feel returning it would disrespect the people who saw something special in me. But keeping it and not finishing my art history major would also disrespect them.