I'm Out!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
25-08-2015, 09:25 PM
I'm Out!
This was my coming out letter to my sister who is more catholic than the pope!

I may not have been clear in my last email so let me be clear now. I am an atheist. I know of no evidence to believe in the supernatural. I believe that man created the thousands of gods of the past, and that man has created all of the thousands of gods that are currently being worshiped today(including the god of Abraham). I have struggled my entire life with faith; faith defined as belief without evidence. Although I have tried, I simply can't resolve it in my mind. I am not neurologically wired for faith. I am a skeptic and have always been a skeptic. I have searched my whole life for Truth. I care very strongly about what is true and want to know how the universe works, how simple things work, how complex things work, how we came to be. The philosophy that I studied in college provided me with reasoning skills, but did not provide me with answers. The religion that I was raised with, based on bronze age scrolls, handed down stories, dogmas, and arguments from "Authority," did not provide the needed answers to my questions. Had I been born in India, I would most likely have been raised with a different religion, different gods and different beliefs.