I'm a new athiest? Help me?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-11-2012, 08:14 PM
I'm a new athiest? Help me?
Hello everyone So this is my first time really talking with any ( some what like minded ) people on this subject.
( new member, first post )

I'm Jixr, a 22 year old guy living in Austin Tx

So to make a long ( as i'm sure all ours are ) story short, I was basically --> <-- this close to going in to seminary school and after a long drawn out
process I've found that I no longer hold to the beliefs of Christianity, and after about 2 years of religious studies, self reflection and basically came to the conclusion
that all of the worlds major religions that i've studies are far too complex, confusing, mythical, ancient, conflicting, etc for me to take hold of. I ended up wanting with all of my desire to not be a christian, jew, muslim, methodist, catholic, agnostic, or an athiest, I don't want a label, I just want to be a person.

I do suppose i'm an atheist by definition. And I have a few questions for some people who may can help me out, and i'll just list them all out.

1. I'm glad i'm free of the religion I was so deep into, but now that i'm out, I feel a bit scared/ancious that I basically threw off everything I was raised in. Is this a normal feeling after people relalise that organized religion is a sham? I used to be happy in my very protected and sheilded bubble, but now that its popped, i'm not sure if i'm quite happy knowing how the world really works.