I'm an Atheist.... Buuuut........

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-08-2015, 03:38 PM
I'm an Atheist.... Buuuut........
At my work, I have a fellow atheist, and we pretty much agree on a lot of things.

One of the things that we agree on is the frustration we have toward people who say they are atheists, but... on other things, not s'much. Since I'm rather new to atheism, I'm still a little confused about the very simple qualifications to be an atheist: don't believe in god or gods. And.... that's it. Specifically god or gods. Deities.

And I know that there are some like that here, so I don't want to step on any toes. I don't want to make it seem like my beliefs are more valid. I know that as atheists, we're only guaranteed to agree on one thing: the existence of deities.

So that being said, I guess I'll come at this with just a question: why are you an atheist?

And after that question is asked answer this one: what faculties are you using to define your atheism that you can or cannot use for other belief systems? Spiritism (that doesn't require a belief in gods)? Ghosts? Unicorns? Conspiracy theories? Political views?

When I made the full declaration to myself and to others as an atheist, by that time I had come to the conclusion that skepticism was the way to go. And skeptic until there's evidence provided for proof. Now I thought that's what defines atheism. And maybe if it still is, then the "what is evidence" I guess seems to be on a personal level.

Ugh! I don't want to give credit to those in religion who say atheist views are no better than religious views. But well, I guess maybe they're not. If there can be an atheist who also believes 9/11 was an inside job, or that fluoride in water is making us gay, or that ghosts exist, or alien abductions are a thing, then... well... Huh

Sorry, that last though just trailed off.

My blog
[Image: communion_zpslrzvgcuh.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply