I really need some help with this.....

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
25-07-2013, 11:48 PM
I really need some help with this.....
as I had said in my intro, I'm new to atheism. I'm 49 yo, and although I consider myself to be one of the most fact based, non-gullible guys around, I had still continued to play "make believe" when it came to religion.... right up until the last month or so.

Not really sure what caused me to finally wake up. But here I am.

Now, I do have this one little hang up, and I'm not sure how to deal with it.
From 83'-91' I lived in an old, beat up mobile home (kind of funny story, my step father bought it for me, so my mom would then let him kick me out of the house, and into the trailer Smile LOL Worked out great for everybody !)
Anyway for that entire 8 year period, we had... uhhh... call it whatever you like ? A ghost ? A spirit ? An invisible force ? It never showed itself, but it showed its doings, on at least a weekly basis. I'd say, on average 2-3 X's a week. The vast majority of the time, it only did small, innocuous things, but on much rarer occasions, it did a few Holy $#@& things too.

I will be glad to go into these things ^ with all the detail you wish, if I'm not just instantly laughed off the stage for bringing it up already.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
So here's my question..... and if you have never had anything "seemingly super natural" happen to you, at any time in your life, lets just make this question a hypothetical one;

So you have decided that based on all of the evidence (or should I say, the lack of) of God, that atheism just makes the most sense.

However "IF" you had personally dealt with something such as a spirit, or a ghost, not just once, but on literally thousands of occasions, over an 8 year period, how would you convince yourself that "even if" their were some kind of super natural forces going on there, their was still just no possibility of this other "myth" known as God ?