I simply need to vent!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
06-02-2016, 08:14 PM
I simply need to vent!
Has anybody else made a comment in a humor's way only to have it kick you in the down stairs area?!

I am a veteran. I, until recently, followed the Popular Military page on facebook. They had a recent article about how a new female recruit joined a combat MOS and she did it because God was guiding her to do so. Through humor I made the comparison that ISIS was doing what they are doing because God is telling them to do so. I had the entire state of Alabama pissed off!!! I try not to get into pissing match's on social media, I just don't see the need for extra stress in my life. I did however find it necessary to address the crowd so I posted my rebuttal to the hatred of all these good Christians and the result was much of the same.

What made this situation difficult is I am a veteran. 90% of the people attacking me were veterans. I did not experience the romantic vision of brothers in arms like you see in the movies during my military career. My experience while in the military was one of isolation because I did not share the world views of most military members. I saw combat and have a chest full of medals to prove it. The point here is these men and women who claim to be God loving, gun toting, hard on military supporting people attempted to take me to task for using humor to point out that extreme Christianity is no better than extreme Islam. When it became obvious that I was an Atheist I might as well been Lucifer himself. I ended up deleting the comment and unliking the page.

I suppose I am at fault for making such a comment on a page that is heavily dominated by Fox News watching right wingers but still, the hatred towards a fellow veteran was eye opening to say the least. Anyone else have similar experiences?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 8 users Like Anon's post
06-02-2016, 08:25 PM
RE: I simply need to vent!